Cyber Security

New features in the Automotive industry like Over The Air updatability (OTA) or the car being able to communicate to several external devices (Car2X) have dramatically increased the possibility of Cybersecurity Attacks to occur in road vehicles.

That is why the ISO and SAE have jointly developed the standard 21434, to provide a guideline on the required processes to be followed by a company, that has decided to develop products that are secure.

The ISO/SAE 21434 provides common terminology, it also defines work products (documents) that can be used as evidence of which Cybersecurity measures were considered during the development of the product and therefore facilitate the certification of the product in regards to Cybersecurity.

The ISO/SAE 21434 is comparable to the ISO 26262, which defines processes to be followed not only during the development but on the complete life-cycle of the vehicle to achieve Functional Safety. ISO/SAE 21434 also supports all phases of the V-Model, including: Requirements Engineering, Design, Implementation, Test and Series Production.

As an independent system house, seneos GmbH has been supporting leading companies across industries since 2008 in the implementation of functional safety norms and standards as well as in the improvement of their system and software development processes.

The service portfolio of seneos ranges from analysis and consulting to operational implementation and the execution of training and education.
Our customers - who mainly come from the automotive and railroad industries, industrial automation and tool manufacturing - benefit from our excellent know-how and the many years of practical experience of our employees.

FAQ´s

Yes, as with the increasing number of communications made from the Vehicle to Everything (V2X) as well as added Remote Functions, increase also the number of possible Attacks to the car.

The damages caused to the car (because of lack of cybersecurity) as well as the loss of private information could represent an enorm cost for the company.

Cybersecurity attacks to insecure interface(s) could lead to Safety damage. In case a successful attack causes the car to behave different from what it was programmed.

Financial damage is also possible, either as a result of fines to be paid after customer complaints in the court or because cars on the field shall be re-called to the garage to be updated, so that a critical vulnerability can be taken care. Additionally companies shall consider the loss of confidence in the Brand that such attacks could cause.

SAE 21434 will superseed SAE J3061.

Yes. The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) is working on a legislation for the European Union to the topic „Cybersecurity Management System“ (CSMS). This will make it mandatory for the cars being produced to be certified in order to be allowed for the European Market.

  • Consultancy regarding Cybersecurity
  • Threat Analysis and Risk Assessment
  • Creation of documents according to the ISO/SAE 21434: Road vehicles - Cybersecurity Engineering

We have several years of experience on this area and some successful stories to tell. We are flexible and transparent. We are goal oriented. We are engineers...

Weitere Services:

Cyber Security

In der Automobilindustrie wachsen die Risiken für Cyber Angriffe auf die Infrastruktur z.B. von Online Updates der Fahrzeuge (OTA), Flottenmanagement und Kommunikation zwischen Fahrzeugen (Car2X).

Die Norm ISO/SAE 21434 stellt einen Leitfaden dar, mit dessen Hilfe die Einhaltung der Regelungen bei der Automobilentwicklung leichter nachgewiesen werden kann, um am Ende eine Zertifizierung zu erhalten. 

Ähnlich wie bei ISO 26262 befasst sich die neue ISO / SAE 21434 mit Sicherheitsaspekten, die für den gesamten Entwicklungsprozess und den Lebenszyklus eines Fahrzeugs berücksichtigt werden müssen. Es folgt dem V-Modell für alle Phasen, einschließlich Anforderungsentwicklung, Design, Spezifikation, Implementierung, Test und Betrieb

Als unabhängiges Systemhaus unterstützt die seneos GmbH seit 2008 branchenübergreifend führende Unternehmen bei der Umsetzung von Normen und Standards der funktionalen Sicherheit sowie bei der Verbesserung ihrer System- und Software-Entwicklungsprozesse.

Das Dienstleistungsportfolio der seneos reicht dabei von der Analyse und Beratung bis hin zur operativen Umsetzung und der Durchführung von Schulungen und Trainings.

Unsere Kunden – die vor allem aus den Bereichen Automobil- und Bahnindustrie, Industrieautomatisierung und Tool Herstellung stammen - profitieren dabei von unserem exzellenten Know-how und der langjährigen Praxiserfahrung unserer Mitarbeiter.

FAQ´s

Ja, denn mit zunehmender Anzahl von Vehicle-to-Everything-Verbindungen (V2X) sowie den Remote-Funktionen eines Autos steigt auch die Anzahl möglicher Angriffe auf das Fahrzeug.

Schäden in Bezug auf Sicherheit des Fahrzeuges sowie der Verlust privater Daten die durch einen Cybersecurity-Angriff verursacht wurden, können enorm sein.

Cybersicherheitsangriffe können zu Sicherheitsschäden führen, wenn ein Auto wie erwartet nicht mehr funktioniert, weil ein Angreifer eine ungesicherte Sicherheitsanfälligkeit ausnutzt. Sie können auch zu finanziellen Schäden führen: aufgrund von Rechtsstreitigkeiten oder weil sie verkaufte Autos zurück in die Garage rufen müssen, um eine kritische Sicherheitsanfälligkeit zu beheben, oder einfach weil die Kunden das Vertrauen in die Marke verlieren.

SAE 21434 soll SAE J3061 aufheben und ersetzen.

Ja. Es wird derzeit von der Wirtschaftskommission für Europa der Vereinten Nationen (UNECE) eine Regelung in Abstimmung mit der EU zum Thema „Cybersecurity Management System“ (CSMS) erarbeitet, das nach jetzigem Stand (Ende 2020) eine verpflichtende Zertifizierung bei der Typzulassung von Fahrzeugen vorsieht.

  • Beratung rund um das Thema “Cybersecurity”
  • Threat Analysis and Risk Assessment
  • Dokumentation nach ISO/SAE 21434: Road vehicles - Cybersecurity Engineering

Wir haben mehrjährige Erfahrung in diesem Bereich und einige Erfolgsgeschichten zu erzählen. Wir sind immer flexibel und transparent. Wir sind Lösungsorientiert. We are engineers…

Weitere Services: